open menulivescore

Spain, Portugal and Morocco set to co-host 2030 World Cup
Copy icon

Danny Ryan
Argentina won the 2022 World Cup in Qatar
Argentina won the 2022 World Cup in Qatar

Spain, Portugal and Morocco are set to co-host the 2030 men's World Cup.

FIFA have confirmed the opening three matches will be staged in South America to mark the tournament's centenary, with the first one held in Uruguay in 1930. 

La Celeste lifted the trophy that year and also triumphed in 1950, famously beating rivals Brazil in the final.

Uruguayan capital Montevideo is set to stage the opening match of the 2030 World Cup, with games in Argentina and Paraguay to follow before the 48-team tournament shifts to Africa and Europe. 

FIFA president Gianni Infantino said: "The FIFA Council agreed unanimously that the only bid to host the 2030 World Cup will be the joint bid of Morocco, Portugal and Spain. 

"Two continents — Africa and Europe — united not only in a celebration of football but also in providing unique social and cultural cohesion. What a great message of peace, tolerance and inclusion.

"In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint. Three continents — Africa, Europe and South America — and six countries — Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay — welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary and the FIFA World Cup."

With that plan now in place and the United States, Canada and Mexico hosting the 2026 World Cup, only nations from the Asian Football Confederation and the Oceania Football Confederation will be able to bid to host the 2034 finals.

That could pave the way for Saudi Arabia, who were reportedly keen on bidding for 2030.

New Zealand and Australia may also come into consideration, having successfully hosted the Women's World Cup during the summer.


World CupSpainPortugalMorocco
LiveScore logo

LiveScore: Live Sport Updates

Footbal Scores & Sports News

App storeGoogle play