open menulivescore

London to host FIFA's The Best awards ceremony in new year
Copy icon

Jamie Gardner
Press Association
Lionel Messi won the 2022 Best FIFA Men's Player award
Lionel Messi won the 2022 Best FIFA Men's Player award

London will host FIFA's The Best awards ceremony on January 15. 

The awards will recognise the Best Men's Player and Best Women's Player as well as the Fair Play Award, the Puskas Award and the Fan Award.

FIFA has not confirmed the precise venue yet. 

It will be the third time London has hosted the event, after it did so in 2016 and 2017. 

The nominees for this year's men's player award include England and Arsenal midfielder Declan Rice along with Manchester City stars Julian Alvarez, Kevin De Bruyne, Erling Haaland and Bernardo Silva, plus ex-City midfielder Ilkay Gundogan. 

City manager Pep Guardiola is one of five nominees for the Best FIFA Men's Coach, along with Tottenham boss Ange Postecoglou. 

Manchester City stopper Ederson has been nominated for the Best Men's Goalkeeper prize, while Manchester United custodian Andre Onana, who helped Inter Milan to last season's Champions League final, is also one of the nominees. 

The qualifying period for the men's award was December 19, 2022 through to August 20 this year. 

In the women's category, five of the England team that reached the World Cup final in August have been nominated. 

Goalkeeper Mary Earps is up for the Best Women's Goalkeeper, while Rachel Daly, Alex Greenwood, Lauren James and Keira Walsh have been nominated for the outfield player prize. 

Lionesses' boss Sarina Wiegman is nominated for the Best Women's Coach award alongside outgoing Chelsea manager Emma Hayes. 

Sarina Wiegman has been nominated for the Best FIFA Women's Coach award
Sarina Wiegman has been nominated for the Best FIFA Women's Coach award

The women's qualifying period ran from August 1, 2022 up to and including August 20 this year, the date of the World Cup final. 

Four members of the Spain team that won that tournament — Aitana Bonmati, Jennifer Hermoso and Salma Paralluelo, plus goalkeeper Catalina Coll — have been nominated but the team's coach Jorge Vilda was not shortlisted in the women's coach category. 

Vilda was sacked in September with concerns over his coaching methods and regime reported to have been a key factor in 15 Spain players refusing to play for the national team last year.

The finalists for the categories will be announced by FIFA over the coming weeks. 

Lionel Messi, who has been nominated for the 2023 award, won the 2022 prize after he helped Argentina to World Cup glory in Qatar, while Spain and Barcelona star Alexia Putellas won the women's award.


Premier LeagueLigue 1Serie ABundesligaLaLigaWomen's Super League
LiveScore logo

LiveScore: Live Sport Updates

Footbal Scores & Sports News

App storeGoogle play