open menulivescore

Everything you need to know about the 2023 Club World Cup
Copy icon

Dan Fitch
Manchester City will be representing Europe at the Club World Cup
Manchester City will be representing Europe at the Club World Cup

The 20th edition of the Club World Cup kicks off this week as champions from around the globe compete in Saudi Arabia. 

Manchester City will be representing Europe having won the UEFA Champions League last season, with Fluminense the pick from South America and Al-Ittihad carrying the host nation's hopes. 

Seven games are set to be split between two stadiums in Jeddah across 11 days — read on to discover everything that you need to know about the 2023 tournament. 

When is the Club World Cup?

The 2023 Club World Cup takes place between December 12 and 22. 

It opens with a clash between Al-Ittihad and New Zealand's Auckland City.

The second round of games are scheduled for December 15 when representatives from Africa, Central America and Asia enter the mix. 

Fluminense and Manchester City will be waiting in the semi-finals, which take place on December 18 and 19. 

A double-header concludes matters on December 22, when the third-place match and final will be contested. 

Which teams are taking part?

Fluminense are the South American champions
Fluminense are the South American champions

Al Ahly (Egypt, CAF Champions League winners) 

Al-Ittihad (Saudi Arabia, Saudi Pro League winners) 

Auckland City (New Zealand, OFC Champions League winners) 

Fluminense (Brazil, Copa Libertadores winners) 

Leon (Mexico, CONCACAF Champions League winners) 

Manchester City (England, UEFA Champions League winners) 

Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan, AFC Champions League winners) 

What is the fixture schedule?

First round

Match One: Tuesday, December 12 — Al-Ittihad vs Auckland City (6pm, GMT

Second round

Match Two: Friday, December 15 — Leon vs Urawa Red Diamonds (2.30pm, GMT

Match Three: Friday, December 15 — Al Ahly vs Winner Match One (6pm, GMT


Match Four: Monday, December 18 — Fluminense vs Winner Match Two (6pm, GMT

Match Five: Tuesday, December 19 — Manchester City vs Winner Match Three (6pm, GMT

Match for third place

Match Six: Friday, December 22 — Loser Match Four vs Loser Match Five (2.30pm, GMT


Match Seven: Friday, December 22 — Winner Match Four vs Winner Match Five (6pm, GMT

Who has won the competition the most times?

Real Madrid are the holders of the Club World Cup
Real Madrid are the holders of the Club World Cup

Real Madrid have won the Club World Cup more often than any other team. LaLiga's giants have five victories and are the reigning champions having claimed the 2022 edition. 

Barcelona have the second highest amount of wins with three, while Bayern Munich and Corinthians have both lifted the trophy twice. 

Chelsea are the last Club World Cup winners from the Premier League having been crowned champions in 2022. 

In total there have been 11 different winners of this tournament. Eight have come from Europe, while three have been South American. 

Where can I watch the Club World Cup?

All matches will be available to watch live on FIFA+, the streaming service from the games's global governing body. 

TNT and Discovery+ will broadcast all matches in the UK.


Club World CupManchester CityFluminenseAl Ahly SCAl IttihadAuckland City FCLeonUrawa Red Diamonds
LiveScore logo

LiveScore: Live Sport Updates

Footbal Scores & Sports News

App storeGoogle play