open menulivescore

Messi wins record eighth Ballon d'Or crown
Copy icon

Rob Ellis
Lionel Messi has won the 2023 Ballon d'Or
Lionel Messi has won the 2023 Ballon d'Or

Lionel Messi has been crowned the men's winner of the 2023 Ballon d'Or in Paris.

Messi, 36, was the standout name on the 30-man shortlist for the accolade after inspiring Argentina to 2022 World Cup glory in Qatar last December.

The Inter Miami forward lifts the individual trophy for a record-extending eighth time, with Manchester City striker Erling Haaland second in the vote.

Messi said: "They're all special. It's nice to be here once more to enjoy this moment, to be able to win the World Cup and achieve my dream.

"I couldn't imagine having the career I've had and everything I've achieved, the fortune I've had."

Handing Messi the prize, Miami co-owner David Beckham said: "It's very special to say he's a Miami player and he's in our city.

"He'll celebrate this with his team-mates and his family in his way. We'll do our best to celebrate it in the Miami way. I'm sure we can do a good party."

Messi's moment

Messi, who first received the award in 2009, sits top of the all-time Ballon d'Or list with eight wins.

Portugal icon Cristiano Ronaldo has five victories, while Frenchman Michel Platini and Dutch legends Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten all lifted the prize on three occasions.

Haaland was Messi's closest rival this time around, with France and Paris Saint-Germain talisman Kylian Mbappe voted third best player.

Kevin De Bruyne was fourth and his City team-mate Rodri finished fifth.

Luka Modric, the 2018 Ballon d'Or holder, came 10th and last year's winner Karim Benzema was 16th.

Bonmati wins women's prize

Aitana Bonmati won the 2023 women's Ballon d'Or
Aitana Bonmati won the 2023 women's Ballon d'Or

For the women's award, Spain and Barcelona midfielder Aitana Bonmati was lauded after clinching the World Cup for La Roja during the summer.

Bonmati, 25, pipped Australia and Chelsea striker Sam Kerr to first place while Salma Paralluelo,, her teenage team-mate for club and country, finished third.

Spanish and European champions Barca were judged the best women's team and Pep Guardiola's Treble-winning City picked up the men's prize.

Brilliant Bellingham

England and Real Madrid midfielder Jude Bellingham won the Kopa Trophy
England and Real Madrid midfielder Jude Bellingham won the Kopa Trophy

Jude Bellingham was presented with the Kopa Trophy for the best player aged under 21.

Bellingham, 20, impressed for England at the World Cup and has taken his game to new levels since a summer switch from Borussia Dortmund to Real Madrid.

With 36 goals in his debut Premier League season at City, Haaland scooped the Gerd Muller trophy for top striker.

The Yashin Trophy for the world's best goalkeeper went to Argentina and Aston Villa stopper Emiliano Martinez.


Lionel MessiInter Miami CFMajor League SoccerErling Braut HaalandManchester CityPremier LeagueLigue 1BundesligaLaLigaJude BellinghamReal MadridEmiliano MartinezArgentinaAston VillaEnglandSpain W
LiveScore logo

LiveScore: Live Sport Updates

Footbal Scores & Sports News

App storeGoogle play